the b list of food products

100_grand_image.jpg

As I munched on a kid-sized 100 Grand this afternoon (chocolate is a vegetable, right?), I got a little sad.

You don’t hear much about 100 Grands these days. Or Baby Ruths. Or Mr. Goodbars.

Then, I started thinking about the sodas that are always on sale: 7-Up, A&W Root Beer and Shasta.

It’s like they’re crying out for help; for a second chance. “I’m a good product! Don’t punish me for not having the marketing money my peers do.”

I grieve especially for 7-Up. I mean, how do you recover an image once you’ve been associated for helping upset tummies feel better?

10 Responses to the b list of food products

  1. Scott says:

    Don’t forget about Mello Yello 🙂

  2. angiebring says:

    Oh, you’re right, Scott! How did I forget my favorite childhood beverage? Mello Yello. So very overlooked. Sigh.

  3. Chad says:

    … and Fun Dip and all those other snacks we had available at the snack shack!

  4. Angie says:

    Ah! Fun Dip…nothing like raw sugar dyed purple & pink on a licked-wet hard sugar stick.

  5. Chad says:

    Yeah, sounds like a ‘low-blood sugar’ pick-me-up…

  6. Lisa says:

    Do you remember the Chunky Bar? Do they still make those? It just seems unfair calling a candy bar “Chunky.” And to add insult to injury, it actually had raisins in it.

  7. Kathy says:

    what about Tab (in the pink can) or Orange Crush. Did you have Pixie Stix? or Cherry Mash?

  8. Angie says:

    How about a snack comprised of a Tab AND a Chunky bar? And then, I’ll throw my hair into a side ponytail, put on some leg warmers and dance around to the Bangles. Oooh, my tummy doesn’t feel very good. Pass me some 7-Up, please.

  9. Kathy says:

    I’ll have a Fresca and some Lay’s potato chips (bet you can’t eat just one!). Pass the Boston Baked Beans and a Sugar Daddy~~~and make some Fizzies! Later we’ll make some Jiffy Pop and ‘dance, dance, dance the night away’ ~~~ 😉

  10. Lisa C. says:

    Do remember before they were called “100 Grand”? Back in the day, they were “$100,000”–I even remember the jingle, “Nestle’s Hundred Thousand Dol-lar Bar!” I still love those things.

    I recently read that candy corn has never been advertised but has been around for like a jillion years (no idea if that’s true). So maybe there’s hope that our old favorites won’t go away even without a marketing budget.

Leave a Reply

