an unpruned tree

unpruned-tree.jpg

I can’t say I’ve ever mowed our lawn and had any deep thought. Not even an “oh-I-need-to-remember-to-get-more-paper-towels- at-the-store” moment. Usually it’s just bearing the Orlando sun for an hour and counting the lawn swaths to go like days left of school.

But last weekend, with the Toro as my witness, the backyard tree spoke to me. Ok, maybe not really. More like God said to my heart using our unprunded tree as fodder:

Angie, see that branch that’s sticking out? It’s almost like the bulk of the tree is going one direction and it’s taking an unforeseen detour. I’ve created the tree to go in one direction and it’s taking extra energy in a direction it’s not meant to go. And it’s not the only branch like that.

My life’s become a little bit like that. Going in lots of directions, spreading my energy in trajectories that are good…but not the best. (A favorite quip of mine: the good is often the enemy of the best.)

Pruning hurts. It’s not convenient. But the gardener does it for the benefit of the plant as there’s only so much water/sap/energy (I’m not a horticulturist, sorry) and so it must be maximized by trimming and redirecting.

That’s what I feel God’s doing. It’s not fun but I know the benefit. I don’t want to invest my life in a million different venues, peoples and activities. I want to choose a few, key things. God’s reminded me of the passion He’s given me and calling me to filter my life and activities through that as a means of making decisions:

Helping women realize their potential in light of God’s truth.

That’s the direction I want my branch to grow in — upward.

2 Responses to an unpruned tree

  1. Sarah says:

    What a great illustration of a concept God is teaching me much about. Thanks for sharing… 🙂

  2. rob says:

    Great post and great analogy. I’ve never been convicted of two completely different things at once: God’s pruning in my life and my need to go cut the grass

Leave a Reply

