playing a tourist in busan

Thanks to my best friend, Melatonin, I slept straight through from 1 a.m. to 8 a.m. And except for hitting the wall a bit at 5 p.m. while on a bus tour, I felt great!

I met up with friends for sightseeing today. It’s a free day before the storm of 15,000 Campus Crusade students and staff members descend upon Busan for the conference. It was also a great way to get a lay of the land, watch people and learn some basics about the culture and the city.

First stop? Lunch.

short-ribs.jpg

Thanks to Scott for his recommendation to try Korean short ribs while I’m here. And where else but at Outback Steak House. I know…my first meal here and it’s Aussie. It’s the Aussie version of Korean food so it counts. Good stuff! Had 2 bites of kimche (side dish that looks red) and then I decided that I’d had enough pickled, spicy cabbage to make a sufficient memory.

dscn1495.jpg

One of the many signs we saw where the English was just off enough that it made you wonder, “Is this really what they meant to say?”

dscn1496.jpg

Me outside the Busan train station before Tom (the photographer with me here) and his wife and I took a bus tour of the city.

dscn1516.jpg

The bus tour. High tech. Pick your language, plug in your earbuds and listen to the GPS-based tour guide.

dscn1509.jpg

One of the many markets….and silver taxis. Is it me or does everyone drive a white or silver car here?

dscn1514.jpg

Nothing says “Buy underwear here” than a sultry look from a wigged, shirtless, plastic man.

dscn1500.jpg

Busan is known for their raw fish markets. Yum…um…haven’t tried that yet.

dscn1504.jpg

Who says you can’t buy friends? Or just one, I guess, in this case.

dscn1502.jpg

So, if I need new tires, do I have to roll them down to my car if the Tire & Tech store is on the 3rd floor?

dscn1519.jpg

It’s 9:30 p.m. and the city is hopping! Even with the amount of cars, it’s still amazing how many people we saw milling around. Last night at 11 p.m., on the way to the hotel from the Busan airport there are people out and about. These are my people, night owls!

night-lights1.jpg

The view to the north of our hotel.

dscn1520.jpg

The beach on the south side of the hotel. Families were out. Couples were out, hand in hand. Vendors were out. All of a sudden I realized: it’s Friday night! Sadly, this man is not so happy it’s Friday night.


3 Responses to playing a tourist in busan

  1. Judy says:

    HI Angie:

    WOW! I love your pics (and sense of humor!) I’m thinking about you and missing our lunches together. Can’t wait until we’re in CO at last. Praying for you and your adventure.

    Love, Judy

  2. Phyllis says:

    I, too, love the pictures and your captions. When I was reading what you were saying about it being 11 pm and so many people were out and about I was one step ahead of you thinking “this is Angie’s kind of place!”. đŸ™‚

  3. Lindsay says:

    Your caption for the plastic underwear guy was hilarious. It really made me laugh. Truly a delight to my night!

Leave a Reply

