confessions of a grace hoarder (who’s recovering)

I always thought it was so very silly that the Israelites became like insolent 3-year-olds and hoarded manna.

And what happened when they hoarded it? It stunk up their houses and they couldn’t eat it.

God never designed manna to sit on shelves in a spiritual Y2K safe house like bottled water and batteries. It was intended to show the Israelites that they needed God to provide for the basic necessities of life…and that they would need Him to do it again tomorrow.

But I was reminded this morning during our team Bible study that I try to do the same with today’s grace. (We’re continuing our John Piper video series on Future Grace.)

With all of my might I can try to amass grace to last me for a week. (Ok, a day or two would even be good, I think.)

And my motive if I’m honest? Because it’s scary to depend upon God. It’s easier to stockpile and feel safe. To not need.

To subtly announce independence. (God doesn’t think it very subtle.)

Matthew 6:32 (the end of the “do not worry passage”) instructs, “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

If I was Matthew I would have wanted to end it a little more sunny side up.

But the reality is that today can be hard. And tomorrow? Well, it has enough trouble of its own.

So what hope do we have in the face of that 10 o’clock news report?

Future grace. Lamentations 3:22-23,

22 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.

23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.

I can’t snatch tomorrow’s portion of grace out of God’s hands today. I get today’s grace today and tomorrow’s grace tomorrow. I don’t have what I need yet to meet tomorrow’s challenges.

But I can be hopeful. Morning is coming.

One Response to confessions of a grace hoarder (who’s recovering)

  1. segalini says:

    I’ve been thinking about this all week; telling people in conversations. So rich. Can’t wait to hear tomorrow’s lesson. I can’t remember the last time I was REALLY LOOKING FORWARD to Monday morning devotions at the office!!!!

Leave a Reply

