in my ear: ginny owens’ “be still, my soul”

It’s Sunday night. That means it’s 11th-hour-learn-Jazzercise-routines time.

As I bought a few new songs on iTunes for class, I came across this one from Ginny Owens.

With all the unknowns in life, I was captured by the words (a remade hymn?) and her wonderfully haunting voice.

“Be still, my soul,
The Lord is on your side.
Bear patiently, the cross of grief or pain.
Leave to your God, to order and provide.
In every change He faithful will remain.
Be still, my soul,
Your best your heavenly friend,
Through thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

Be still, my soul,
Your God will undertake
To guide the future as he has the past.
Your hope, your confidence let nothing shake.
All now mysterious shall be bright at last.
Be still, my soul,
The waves and winds still know
His voice who ruled them while he lived below.

Be still, my soul,
Be still, my soul,
Be still.”

2 Responses to in my ear: ginny owens’ “be still, my soul”

  1. Lisa says:

    I love that hymn too…yes it is an oldie goldie. ( :
    Does it count if I’m being still while watching Judge Judy??

Leave a Reply

