drawers & cupboards

When Jodi, Deb and I moved into our col-de-sac home 4 1/2 years ago, I don’t remember a conversation about where to put plates.

Or drinking glasses.

Or the ice cream scoop.

But the silverware is in the drawer to the left of the refrigerator. Has been that way for 52 months.

And, tonight, I think it surprises me how we’ve not rearranged.

It’s kind of like our kitchen went on auto-pilot.

And, recently, I think that I’m surprised at the spiritual parallel. I moved into the Christian life 19 years ago. I unpacked things I thought were true about God or true about me into drawers and cupboards and they’ve remained there, often un-reconsidered.

So God is bringing in a rearranging team: His Word and some fellow sojourners.

Thanks, Judy. It’s been hours since our Chili’s lunch, yet I’m still thinking about what you said: I can believe that God will make everything good and right in the end, but have I given myself the OK to grieve, or get angry – or whatever – that all is not quite right…yet?

Thanks, Scott. Because of our conversation yesterday, I’m challenged to love God more with my mind; to think about questions I have for Him and about Scripture. Questions for which I don’t have pretty bows of trite answers to attempt to attach to things I don’t understand. Am I willing to ask anyway?

Thanks, Amanda. Amidst our side-splitting laughter on my back porch as the sun faded, you offered wise counsel about relationships and a new perspective that challenged my default thinking.

Thanks, friends, for helping me take stock of my spiritual kitchen and its components.

3 Responses to drawers & cupboards

  1. Michelle says:

    I love your thoughts and have been soaking them in. Thanks for your inspiration!

  2. Jodi says:

    Ha! The 2 shelves that we just rearranged last weekend coincide w/ your spiritual rearranging! Timely. Very timely! 😉

  3. Angie says:

    Jode–that’s hilarious! You’re right. We did mix it up a bit recently with the spices and the plethora of coffee mugs, didn’t we?

Leave a Reply

