the only one givin’ is God

I want to bring something of value to the table. With naked honesty, I confess this.

I want to have some little somethin’ that I’ve made up or thought up or created all by my lonesome and have God say, “Wow, thanks! I needed that!”

This attitude is like acne – concealable behind pricey makeup, but still there; the quiet, ever-present antithesis of humility.

So this journey of learning about “future grace” took a turn a few weeks ago when our office started the John Piper DVD series about Future Grace. One of the things Piper said that day was like a doctor’s mallet swung below my kneecap.

“God is always the Giver and I’m always the Getter.”

Always. As in all the time. Not “except for the days when I conjure up something on my own.” Not “except for when God forgets.” Not “except for when Angie gets her butt in gear and makes things happen.”

So, I keep reading in this book, Future Grace, that is fast becoming among the top 3 life-changing books for me. (The Bible and Grace Walk by Steve McVey are #1 and #2).

“Grace would not be grace if it were a response to resources in us.”

Not only am I not the Giver…I’m learning I’m not the wooer. In the past I’ve been all too good at manipulating and convincing to get things done for me. There is nothing about grace that is a response to what I do or even who I am.

“Grace is grace because it highlights God’s own overflowing resources of kindness.”

I need to have the security that He does as He wills because He’s God. It’s up to Him. Not me.

“He is jealous for the world to see that He has no deficiencies which we humans could supply with our works or our distinctives. He is always the benefactor and we are always the beneficiary.”

The only one giving anything is God. And He does it because He loves His children and longs to lavish – for eternity – His grace.

“There are two astonishing things here. One is that the purpose of salvation is for God to lavish the riches of His grace on us. The other is that it will take Him forever to do it.”

I am undone, Jesus.

2 Responses to the only one givin’ is God

  1. Becky says:

    Thank you, Angie.

  2. Lisa says:

    LOVE the truths you share!! Makes me fall more deeply in love with Him. He doesn’t NEED us, He WANTS us! Amazing…..Grace!!!

Leave a Reply

