white socks & oil changes

“Got any whites?” Deb called out to me from the laundry room.

“A few,” I shouted back. “What temperature are you washing them in?”

“Cold.”

“Cold?”

“What temperature do you wash them in?”

“Hot.”

“Really? I’ve always washed whites in cold.”

Let’s just say Deb and I are older than 20, so that’s a few loads of whites in cold over the years.

Made me remember a conversation with my dad only a few months ago. The topic of oil changes came up. I told him about a recent oil change. He asked where I’d gone for it.

“The Ford dealership,” I replied.

“Why?” he asked.

“Um…because you always told me to go to the dealership. I guess the idea is they’ve got more invested in taking care of my car.”

“I never told you that.”

What?” It was as if he’d confessed being a spy for the Ugandan government.

I’d based my oil-change patterns solely on a comment he never said…or I misunderstood. I’d been living an oil-change lie for my entire 16-year driving career.

I had to really stop and consider: What other patterns or habits do I have simply because I’ve always done it that way? Or believed it should be done that way?

If I’d lived when Jesus’ sandals marked the dirt, I fear I might have been a Pharisee. Sticking to my rules and the Law because that’s all I’d known.

Going about life in our own strength and our plan has never really panned out for men and women since the ricochet of the apple bite sounded off of the trees in Eden.

So Jesus stands before us and beckons us to do life differently. For me, it’s like a wake-up call for my soul.

And, really, it’s what I’ve always wanted to hear.

“I came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed of” (John 10:10, The Message).

4 Responses to white socks & oil changes

  1. Jim says:

    Great analogy! It makes me realize how important it is to explain the “whys” to our children. We try to do that, but, honestly, it gets really messy that way, and we resort to “rules” without explanation. It’s a constant battle.

  2. Chad says:

    You know sis, Pop does the same thing to me. I can swear up & down that he has told me the best way to do something that I’ve been doing for years only to hear him ‘claim’ he never said so…

  3. Erik says:

    Your word choices!!
    Wake up call for my soul…
    ricochet of the apple bite…
    when Jesus’ sandal marked the dirt…

    You rope my senses in as well (thanks for sparing us the smell of the laundry washed in cold…)
    But what I loved most was your match of two anecdotes with a life lesson. Story with a purpose.

    As the sailors say in “Master and Commander”: HUZZAH!

  4. Angie W. says:

    I love this entry! It coincides with what God has been teaching me recently- to strive for better than status quo in my relationship with Him and in all areas of life.

Leave a Reply

