Christ the Lord: out of egypt

Anne Rice surely amounted to more than her birth name of Howard Allen O’Brien would suggest.

I just finished her latest book, Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt.

Not your average book for a woman who’s penned more than 20-some books.

Mostly about vampires.

I love that God is still in the business of changing lives.

In the author’s note chapter in the back of the book she says:

“I stumbled upon a mystery without a solution, a mystery so immense that I gave up trying to find an explanation because the whole mystery defied belief. The mystery was the survival of the Jews.

“As I sat on the floor of my office surrounded by books about Sumer, Egypt, Rome, etc., and some skeptical material about Jesus that had come into my hands, I couldn’t understand how these people had endured as the great people who they were.

It was this mystery that drew me back to God. It set into motion the idea that there may in fact be God. And when that happened there grew in me for whatever reason an immense desire to return to the banquet table.” (She’d left all of “religion” at 18.)

“In 2002 I put aside everything else and decided to focus entirely on answering the questions that had dogged me all my life. The decision came in July of that year. I had been reading the Bible constantly, reading parts of it out loud to my sister, and pouring over the Old Testament, and I decided that I would give myself utterly to the task of trying to understand Jesus himself and how Christianity emerged.”

“I wanted to write about the life of Jesus Christ. I had known that years ago. But now I was ready. I was ready to do violence to my career. I wanted to write the book in the first person. Nothing else mattered. I consecrated the book to Christ.”

I fell in love with Jesus all over again in the pages of this book. I’m surprised that a vampire lady could do that. But then, again, that’s not who she is.

Anymore.

One Response to Christ the Lord: out of egypt

  1. I didn’t know her testimony. That is powerful, and yes it is awesome that God still changes lives!

Leave a Reply

