isaac: a not-so-young dad

I don’t know if you’re like me, but I am. Anyway, if you’re like me, you act surprised that this life isn’t about instant gratification. As my mom would often say in the direction of my ear, “The world does not revolve around you.”

I thought that was pure tragedy.

But, seriously, what on earth has led me astray into this illogic? That what I want I get now. Or I get in the near future. Or at least before Ann Taylor replaces it on the shelf for something for the new season.

Isaac was 40 years old when married Rebekah. (Isaac as in Abraham’s son, not the bartender on “The Love Boat.”)

Did you know that?

I didn’t.

They lived a lot longer back then, but still…40!

I was reading Genesis 25:1-11 and – if I’m reading it right – was amazed to realize that Isaac (a.k.a “child of promise”) was still single when Ishmael was married with 12 sons of his own. Now if I was him I’d be scratching my head wondering if ‘ol Dad heard God wrong. Um…isn’t it through me that the nations will be blessed and my descendants will be like stars in the sky? Is he the blessed one instead? Am I confused?

But the promise stood. Invisible. It just didn’t look like what the human eye could see.

Then, today, I read more. Did you know that Isaac and Rebekah were married 20 years before she finally got pregnant?

Sarah? Barren. Took forever – oh, and a servant-try – to get pregnant.

Rebekah? Barren. Took 20 years.

Kind of 0 and 2 when you think about populating the earth with God-followers quickly.

But God’s never been about quick action in lieu of a lesson. He’s about faith and trust and all of those things that make my head swim.

So, at 60, Isaac becomes a dad and Rebekah becomes a mom.

Whew. What a powerful reminder that’s been for me today that a typical journey of faith isn’t without barren terrority.

Deserts. Valleys. Mountains. Sleet. Rain. Hurricanes.

Fulfillment.

And often, fulfillment that looks nothing like what I’d thought it’d look like.

But then, sometimes, it shines brightly. Just like the stars on a cloudless night.

5 Responses to isaac: a not-so-young dad

  1. Jim says:

    I enjoyed the insights, but not the truth, I guess I still want things quicker than they come. It reminds me of the lines from the Newsboys song, The Orphan:

    then I slept one night
    in Abraham’s field
    and dreamt there was no moon
    the night he died
    counting stars
    Selah

  2. Lisa says:

    LOVE your insights! You always seem to express what I feel/struggle with so much better than I could. I agree with Jim, too…so hard to wait, to see what is unseen. Thanks for sharing your heart so beautifully, Angie!!

  3. Your fan says:

    Angie,
    Your writer’s voice is so clear, so evident, on this post.
    And I forgot I was reading; instead I was listening.
    That is good writing.

    (Plus!! you had something important to say…what a bonus!)

  4. Jennifer says:

    Ang,
    Thanks for posting this! What a reminder that God works on His timing, not ours. And, we all can have hope!!!! Love it!

  5. Lindsay says:

    Excellent! Thanks for the great encouragement and inspiration these realizations give that at times I realize and, at others, I forget and become restless and short-sighted.

Leave a Reply

