bigger than my body

So now that I (and John Mayer in his new song) have your attention…

I love how music moves me like no alarm clock can.

Colleen told me about John’s song, “Bigger Than My Body” and I don’t think I’ve been the same since.

John’s not a follower of Jesus (I think the only one he’s following these days is Jessica) but he nails a truth:

My life here on earth is missing something. I am more than just this earthly tent.

As he says, “I’m bigger than my body gives me credit for.”

Someday I’ll fly
Someday I’ll soar
Someday I’ll be so much more
Cause I’m bigger than my body gives me credit for

One line he croons is “Guess I’ll circle while I’m waiting for my fuse to dry.”

But I thought he said: “Guess I’ll circle while I’m waiting for my fears to dry.”

And I like what I heard because it resonates with my experience.

This isn’t home. I was made for more than this. I’m circling over the pavement of life. There are so many fears I have. Fears that seem very liquidified and schlushy and oozing over everything adjacent.

But I don’t want to live like that. Jesus doesn’t want me to live like that. (As Switchfoot confesses, “My fears have worn me out.”)

I want fears as dried as cracked-feet. Arizona-parched-120 degree-baked fears. Fired-in-the-pizzaria-brick-oven fears.

No longer alive and kicking.

One Response to bigger than my body

  1. Jim says:

    Really good thoughts. What a wonderful truth that we are more than our physical selves. I love the reference to Switchfoot. Such authentic lyrics!

Leave a Reply

