was that a pick up line?

I took my car to get serviced this morning. It’d been bucking like a baby bronco when I’d accelerate after turning a corner.

Art, one of the mechanics (who didn’t look like an Art), asked what was wrong, then asked me to ride with him around the block so he could see the problem himself.

As I did so I thought about how we teach children not to get in cars with strangers….Fortunately, I’ve been to this shop before and trusted them.

“So, does your husband also drive this car?” he asked.

“No.”

“So, he drives another car?”

“I don’t know what car he drives,” I answered. “I haven’t met him yet.”

8 Responses to was that a pick up line?

  1. Jim says:

    You’re too clever . . . Seems like a pick-up line to me, he just kept fishing.

  2. Lindsay says:

    Weird! So something almost like it happened to me this week! The lunch man asked me, “Does your husband ever tell you you’re a workaholic?” I was so caught off-guard, I didn’t even answer.

  3. Guys can spot another guy scamming the babes from a million miles away, and I’m guy. It was a pickup line, big-time. To his credit though, he had some class and he knew when to quit. The guys that have the guts to even ask usually lose some taste in the process. Sad, but true.

  4. Erm…I’m “a” guy. Geesh.

  5. Angie says:

    I should have added that he later asked why I wasn’t married…and then how old I was. When I said “32” he exclaimed “I’m 34!” like that was the winning answer. LOL

  6. Patricia says:

    You definitely have to date this guy now, since he’s 34!

  7. Michelle says:

    Oh Angie, You’re so witty! I wouldn’t have thought of that response until I was in bed that night. Good one. πŸ™‚

  8. Lindsay says:

    So, do you think he’s still available? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

