perspective on prayer

Those of us who work at Campus Crusade’s headquarters in Orlando enjoyed a corporate day of prayer today; a day away from the office at a local church enjoying praise and worship, speakers and lots of time to pray about what God is doing in us and around the world.

Crawford Loritts, a previous staff member and now pastor, gave some great nuggets I’ve been chewing on:

  • In Luke 17 Jesus speaks about staying awake and aware, spiritually. In Luke 18:1 the writer writes why Jesus told the story of the persistent widow and the judge by saying, “Then Jesus spoke a parable to them, that men always ought to pray and not lose heart.” Crawford made the point that the opposite is true, too: When we don’t pray, we lose heart. Seems so basic but that was an a-ha for me.
  • He quoted C.H. Spurgeon: “Whether we like it or not, asking is the rule of the Kingdom. If you may have everything by asking in His Name, and nothing without asking, I beg you to see how absolutely vital prayer is.” Crawford made the point that prayer is not only about what we ask God for, but it’s so important because it’s our proactive dependence upon God. We pray because we need God. We posture ourselves when we pray basically confessing how we aren’t in control and how much we need God to show up.

This afternoon I stole away outside for awhile by myself and John (the gospel of, that is) on the grass. I was reading in chapter 4 about Jesus and the Samaritan woman at the well. When Jesus told her, “He who drinks this water will never thirst again,” referring to Himself as the Living Water, she replied, “Sir, give me this water that I may never thirst, won’t ever have to come back to this well again!” (John 4:15, The Message).

It’s like she was saying, “Give me what you’ve got! I’ll take a Super Big Gulp of it…and that should last me a long time so I can go off on my own for awhile…that should tide me over and I’ll do my own thing until it runs out.” 

As a woman who struggles with wanting independence, I have had similar inclings. “Jesus, give me what I need for the month. Then I won’t have to come back and ask.” That’s really my attitude, but when I type it’s so obvious the fault lines in that thinking! So, S-L-O-W-L-Y I’m realizing how Jesus has given me Life (with a capital L)…which, in contrast to the world, means freedom as I totally depend upon Him moment by moment.

Leave a Reply

