bumper stickers

Just filled up with gas ($2.22!) and saw a bumper sticker I hadn’t seen for awhile: “Jesus is coming back. Look busy.” I remember how I used to think that was the coolest saying. Now I think, What? Faith has nothing to do with being busy. And, plus…as if we could fake Jesus out like we did in 4th grade when we had a matronly substitute teacher in uncool retro clothing who let us get away with murder.

Since I’m on the subject, I recently remembered another great bumper sticker I saw at someone’s desk: “What if the hokey-pokey is  what it’s all about?” Oh my. Aren’t you glad it’s not?

Leave a Reply

