cable cars, bad pudding and spelling bees

First of all, where was my personal assistant when I packed? Ok, if I had a personal assistant and she was any good, she would’ve told me to take long underwear on this trip! Maybe it’s not that cold, but tell that to the woman in my seminar today who swaddled herself in a blanket dragged down from her guestroom!

The evenings have especially been chilly apart from the first night. God has been especially kind in providing free transportation on the cable cars while we’ve been here. They have had 2 days of no-fee rides on all public transportation so as to give awareness about the benefit of not overpolluting the air with individual cars (good luck driving on these hills, though!!!). A favorite was 2 nights ago when we headed to the downtown area of Union Square on the trolley. I was giddy as I wrapped my arm around one of the outskirting poles and waved like a homecoming queen as we sailed down the incline. What a blast!

Today was our last of 3 solid days of all-day seminars. The first day I attended one on e-mail newsletters. Yesterday and today was a 2-part series on intranets. That’s essentially what the Staff Web is as it’s for internal communciations within a company. There were a lot of helpful ideas and things I’d not considered before. I need to organize my “next steps” notes from each session and bring it to our team meeting to discuss. Overall, I was encouraged about how much we are doing right and how much we already know. The Staff Web has come a long way.

The presenters knew their stuff, but both used a term I’d never heard before. For the first two days they both mentioned – more than once each – to be careful of this or that because it could be off pudding. I wondered what that meant and figured I just wasn’t in the tech world enough and that it must be a new term to me. I thought it meant that something was supposed to be right (pudding) but it was just…off. Like chocolate pudding that wasn’t so chocolaty.

And then it hit me.

They weren’t talking about pudding at all.

They were saying that such and such was off-putting.

I ask you…is that even a word?

Now, we’re off to dinner and then to see The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee. The musical, not the real thing. Although my coworker Erik, who booked the tickets, said if we get there early, you can audition to get on stage and spell.

I won’t be doing that. My 4th grade spelling bee did me in with my dive into spelling bee obscurity with the misspelling of squirrel. Two r’s. How my life could have turned out so differently…

(P.S. We fly home tomorrow morning and arrive into Orlando at 11pm-ish.)

One Response to cable cars, bad pudding and spelling bees

  1. Lindsay says:

    Oh my, how many times I’ve misheard words and it turned out to be comical, too! šŸ™‚ Spelling bee, ha ha! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

