play the movie

Marcy, a friend and mentor of mine, mentioned an idea a few months ago that intrigued me.

She mentioned it again Sunday when we were on the phone and it made me go for the shelf at the Christian bookstore tonight. It's called 9 Things You Simply Must Do To Succeed in Life and Love.

The chapter is called "Play the Movie" and here is the overview:

  • each of life's "scenes" contributes to the film's good end.
  • never seeing any individual action as a singular thing in and of itself – any one thing you do is only a scene in a larger movie

This has made me consider the trajectory of my life. If I keep doing what I'm doing now in the area of (fill in the blank), what's the end result? How will the movie end?

Daily choices in the arenas of physical health and spiritual health take on a greater effect when I look at the bigger picture.

I'm not hungry but it's only an Oreo or two at the office…I want to get up and have good time in Bible study in the morning, but I'm so sucked into this TV show…

Leave a Reply

