health tricks

That sounds like I’m a contestant on a late-night talk show. Sadly, I’m still 15-minutes-of-fameless.

In the meantime, here are some helpful tips I sent my brother today when he asked how I had such great results for my last diabetic 3-month bloodwork. It’s not been easy. These 8 years as a diabetic have often been a rocky road.

  1. Eating food that I know, with almost certainty, what amount of carbs are in it. For instance, I buy sweet treats prepackaged individually. It’s a little more expensive, but I know what I’m getting–as opposed to eating ice cream out of the container and guessing at what 1/2 c. was and usually shoveling more like 2 cups in my bowl. I have memorized the amount of carbs in the fruits and crackers and such I commonly eat.
  2. I don’t eat 2 hours before I go to bed. That way, my fast-acting insulin is completely out of my body (lasts 2 hours) and I stay steady blood-sugar-wise all night.
  3. I shoot for 4 units of insulin per meal. This causes me to eat more veggies and low-GI foods.
  4. Working out consistently (3 or 4 times a week). Anything with weights seems to help my blood sugars for up to 2 days after.
  5. I set myself up for success with a good breakfast. I starve by 10am, I finally figured out, if I don’t have a good carb and protein for breakfast. Right now what I eat is Kashi vanilla oatmeal (good for cholesterol and whole grains) with 1/2 c. frozen blueberries and string cheese (or cottage cheese or 1 c. milk).
  6. I pack healthy snack options at my desk. Single-serving microwave popcorn, single-serving applesauce, granola bars.
  7. 10am snack is usually yogurt. 3 pm snack is usually 1/4 c. almonds (love them!) and 1 small apple.
  8. A good friend of mine says she only eats food she pays for. It’s challenged me about how often I eat something because it’s offered (free) at the office, at a meeting, etc.

Leave a comment with your best health trick!

2 Responses to health tricks

  1. Chad Bring says:

    Thanks sis – I know this will help me along with others that stumble onto your site!

  2. Chad Bring says:

    Oh – I never left a ‘trick’ – I’m totally digging sugar free fruit punch. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

